Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Pipestone County marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony date.
Pipestone County Marriage License Office
416 South Hiawatha Avenue
Pipestone, MN 52314
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. / M - F
Closed for holidays Observed by Pipestone County
You do not have to be a resident of Pipestone County.
You must provide proper identification along with Social Security numbers.
If you were previously married, you must show proof of divorce, death, or annulment from your most recent marriage.
Pipestone County has a waiting period of five (5) working days. This waiting period can be waived a district judge if the circumstances are considered to be "extraordinary."
$110 for those who don't provide written proof of premarital education. $40 fee for those who do take an authorized premarital education course that has a minimum of 12 hours. Reduced Fee Marriage Form
Call before you leave to get your marriage license application to make sure that the fee hasn't changed. Be prepared to pay in cash.
Pipestone County does not require blood tests.
No. However, only one applicant can apply for the marriage license as long as all the required information for the absent partner is provided. Call the Clerk of Court to see how to get your partner's signature notarized. Requirements may vary from county to county.
Common Law Marriages:
Yes. There is a waiver of a portion of the marriage license fees to couples who do a 12 hour premarital education course. The course must use a premarital inventory, teaching about communication skills, and conflict management skills. According to the Minnesota Statute, "The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriageand family therapy under section 148B.33.
Judges, clerks of court, court commissioners, and licensed ministers, priests or rabbis, as well as representatives of Bahai, Hindu, Quaker and American Indian religious groups are authorized to perform weddings in Minnesota.
You will need at least two witnesses at your wedding ceremony. The witnesses must be at least 16 years of age.
License is valid for six (6) months.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
Minnesota Department of Health
Attention: Office of the State Registrar
717 Delaware St SE
P.O. Box 9441
Minneapolis, MN 55440-9441
Phone: (612) 676-5120
Fax: (612) 331-5776
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.